RESOLUTION 8-2011-87

OPPOSING S-2795 AND A-3835, CONCERNING ENFORCEMENT RESPONSIBILITY OF STATE HOUSING CODE UNDER THE "HOTEL AND MULTIPLE DWELLING LAW"

- **WHEREAS,** on June 29th S-2795 passed the State Senate by a vote of 23-13-4, and now rests with its Assembly companion, A-3835, with the Assembly Housing and Local Government Committee; and
- **WHEREAS,** S-2795 and A-3835 would prohibit municipalities from adopting ordinances requiring periodic inspections of multiple dwellings other than those conducted by the State under the "Hotel and Multiple Dwelling Law"; and
- **WHEREAS,** S-2795 and A-3835 would prohibit municipalities from charging separate fees for the registration of multiple dwellings; and
- **WHEREAS,** according to a fiscal estimate prepared by the non-partisan Office of Legislative Services S-2795 and A-3835 will decrease municipal revenues and potentially decrease municipal expenditures; and
- **WHEREAS,** S-2795 and A-3835 would eliminate local control over the inspection of multiple dwellings which is not in the public's best interests; and
- WHEREAS, landlord registration of any rental unit, regardless of whether a portion is owner-occupied could continue but a municipality would be prohibited from charging a registration fee thereby raising cost without any revenue off-set; and
- **WHEREAS,** municipalities could continue to issue "Continuing Certificates of Occupancy" upon an inspection following termination of occupancy in a rental unit, but would be preempted by the bill from having or adopting ordinances under which periodic inspections of multiple dwellings would be made; and
- **WHEREAS**, such landlord registrations and "Continuing Certificates of Occupancy" are conducted for the public safety and welfare of the citizens of our municipality;
- **NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** by the Borough of Barrington that enactment of S-2795 and A-3835 will decrease municipal revenues and place yet another financial burden on already strained New Jersey Municipalities, and will take away local control over the inspection of multiple dwellings, which is not in the best interest of our residents.
- **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,** the Governing Body of the Borough of Barrington strongly opposes S-2795 and A-3835;
- **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,** that a copy of this resolution be transmitted to the Governor of the State of New Jersey, Senator Donald Norcross, Assemblyman Whip Wilson and Assemblyman Angel Fuentes from the Firth Legislative District, Assemblyman Kevin Ryan,

Assemblywoman Mila Jasey, Assemblyman Joseph Cryan, Assemblyman Jerry Green and the members of the Assembly Housing and Local Government Committee, Assembly Speaker Sheila Oliver, Senator Steven Oroho, Senator Jeff Van Drew and the New Jersey State League of Municipalities.

BOROUGH OF BARRINGTON	AUGUST 10, 2011
BY:	ATTEST:
John D. Rink, Mayor	Terry Shannon, Clerk/RMC

DISTRIBUTION LIST

The Hon. Chris Christie, Governor, State of New Jersey PO Box 001 Trenton, New Jersey 08625 Phone (609) 292-6000 Fax (609) 292-3454

The Hon. Sheila Oliver,
Speaker, New Jersey General Assembly
Assemblywoman, District 34
NJ General Assembly Democratic
Office
PO Box 098
Trenton, NJ 08625
Phone (609) 292-7065
Fax (609) 292-2386
AswOliver@njleg.org

The Hon. Kevin Ryan Assemblyman, District 36 800 Bloomfield Avenue, Lower Level Nutley, New Jersey 07110 Phone (973) 667-4431 Fax (973) 667-478 AsmRyan@njleg.org The Hon. Mila Jasey Assemblywoman, District 27 15 Village Plaza, Suite 1B South Orange, New Jersey 07079 Phone (973) 762-1886 Fax (973) 762-6118 AswJasey@njleg.org

The Hon. Joseph Cryan Assemblyman, District 20 985 Stuyvesant Avenue Union, New Jersey 07083 Phone (908) 624-0880 Fax (908)624-0587 AsmCryan@njleg.org

The Hon. Jerry Green Assemblyman, District 22 17 Watchung Avenue Plainfield, New Jersey 07060 Phone (908) 561-5757 Fax (908) 561-5547 AsmGreen@njleg.org

Members of the Assembly Housing and Local Government Committee:

Assemblyman Jerry Green (D22) — Chair (above) Assemblywoman Mila M. Jasey (D27) — Vice Chair (above) Assemblyman Kevin J. Ryan (D36) (above)

The Hon. Daniel R. Benson Assemblyman, District 14 3961A Nottingham Way Hamilton Square, New Jersey 08690 AsmBenson@njleg.org

The Hon. Michael Patrick Carroll Assemblyman, District 25 20 South Street, Suite 2B Morristown, NJ 07960 Phone (973) 539-8113 Fax (973) 539-8752 AsmCarroll@njleg.org The Hon. Celeste M. Riley Assemblywoman, District 3 14 East Commerce Street, 3rd Floor Bridgeton, New Jersey 08302 Phone (856) 455-1011 Fax (856) 455-2853 AswRiley@njleg.org

The Hon. Charlotte Vandervalk Assemblywoman District 39 287 Kinderkamack Road, Suite E Westwood, New Jersey 07675 Phone (201) 666-0881 Fax (201) 666-5255 AswVandervalk@njleg.org

Your State Representatives

The Hon. Steven Oroho Senator, District 24 115 Demarest Road, Suite 2B Sparta, New Jersey 07871 Phone (973) 300-0200 Fax (973) 300-1744 SenOroho@njleg.org

The Hon. Jeff Van Drew Senator, District 1 21 North Main Street Cape May Court House, New Jersey 08210 Phone (609) 465-0700 Fax (609) 465-4578 SenVanDrew@njleg.org

NJ League of Municipalities 222 West State Street Trenton, NJ 08608 Phone (609) 695-3481 Fax (609) 695-0151 NJLeague@njslom.com